The European Sensory Science Society (E3S) is a no profit organisation constituted in Florence (Italy) on the 12th of May 2011 by twelve promoting partners, the national sensory societies from Austria, Denmark, Italy, Finland, France, Germany, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands and United Kingdom. In 2015 also Ireland joined the E3S, and in 2022 E3S welcomed Slovenia.

The goal of the association, concerning general interest and social utility, is to gather, within a single organization, the European Sensory Science Society (E3S), all national organisations that deal with sensory science and operate in European countries.


  • Facilitate the growth of Sensory Science;
  • Promote co-operation, shared goals, integration of activities and knowledge, information exchange amongst national sensory science organisations in Europe;
  • Establish, maintain and enhance the professional status of sensory scientists;
  • Develop and disseminate research, innovation and education in sensory science.


  • Promote collaborative discussion and research;
  • Promote collaborative educational activities, such as Master and PhD courses;
  • Provide practical information for sensory practitioners;
  • Provide opportunities for networking, through formal and informal events, membership lists, etc.;
  • Encourage novice sensory scientists to enter the profession;
  • Promote continuing professional development of sensory scientists through a variety of means, such as mentoring, travel awards, training courses, workshops, conferences, etc.;
  • Provide career advice for sensory scientists;
  • Promote the professional conduct of sensory scientists by upholding ethical, legal and appropriate laboratory practices;
  • Be author and/or edit published material on sensory science, including manuals, standards, newsletters, websites and journals;
  • Link with sensory science organisations outside Europe.

Activities and collaborations

Share this