Announcement of 2017-2018

deadline June, 26, 2017

One $15,000 Sensory Science Scholarship will be awarded for the 2017-2018 academic year to support a Ph.D. student who intends to teach and conduct research in the area of sensory science at the University level. This scholarship is awarded in honor of the memory of Professor Rose Marie Pangborn, who initiated the scholarship fund to encourage the education of Sensory Scientists intending to pursue academic careers.

Applicants for the scholarship must be enrolled in a Ph. D. Program such as Food Science, Nutrition, Psychology or Physiology.  The planned or on-going dissertation research must be on a sensory topic under the guidance of a sensory scientist.  Candidates will be evaluated on the basis of their academic record, intended research in human sensory science, commitment to a career in teaching in the field of sensory science, and support determined by letters of recommendation.  The Board of Directors of the Sensory Science Scholarship Fund (SSSF) will determine policies governing the award and will select recipients.

Applications, including all required documentation must be postmarked no later than June, 26, 2017.  For additional information and application forms contact Dr. Rick Mattes, Purdue University, Department of Nutrition Science, 700 W. State St., W. Lafayette, IN 47907-2059, USA Phone – 765-494-0662 FAX – 765-494-0674 email – Application forms are also downloadable at:


Past recipients include:  Pauline Lestringant, Corinna Noel, Carlos Gomez Corona, Cordelia Running, Nuala Bobowski, Erin Green, Melinda Murray, Michael Nestrud, Karen Ann Lusk (Hein), Gaston Ares, Martha Bajec, John Hayes, Derek Snyder, Cheryl Armstrong, Zuzana Drobna, Terri Rosett, Nicolette van der Klaauw, Sophie Bonnans, Jeannine Delwiche, Liz Gwartney, Thomas Heinbockel, Andrew Smith, Barbara Guggenbühl, Elba Cubero-Castillo, Randy Lee, and Lotika Bhatia Savant.

Share this