Food Quality and Preference

Food Quality and Preference is the official journal of the European Sensory Science Society. Food Quality and Preference is a journal devoted to sensory, consumer and behavioural research in food and non-food products. It publishes original research, critical reviews, and short communications in sensory and consumer science, and sensometrics. In addition, the journal publishes special invited issues on important timely topics and from relevant conferences. These are aimed at bridging the gap between research and application, bringing together authors and readers in consumer and market research, sensory science, sensometrics and sensory evaluation, nutrition and food choice, as well as food research, product development and sensory quality assurance. Submissions to Food Quality and Preference are limited to papers that include some form of human measurement; papers that are limited to physical/chemical measures or the routine application of sensory, consumer or econometric analysis will not be considered unless they specifically make a novel scientific contribution in line with the journal’s coverage as outlined below.

The journal’s coverage includes:
• Sensory and motivational studies
• Food choice studies of cultural, sensory and environmental factors
• Innovative consumer and market research
• Geographical, cultural and individual differences in perception and preferences
• Health and wellbeing studies
• Mathematical modelling in relation to acceptability and food quality
• Sensometric analyses and models of sensory and acceptance parameters
• Consumer psychology and behavior, including the study of emotions
• Consumer-driven product development
• Product experience and contextual influences
• Methodological papers on personal care and other consumer products

Food Quality and Preference Awards

Since 2011 every second year, during the Pangborn Sensory Science Symposium, Food Quality and Preference assigns two awards to an established researcher and a researcher who received his/her doctoral degree 10 years from his/her PhD:

  • Contributions by an established researcher
    Awarded to a researcher who has made major contributions to our understanding of sensory or consumer science, whether in terms of basic processes, methodologies or applications of knowledge or methods, over a prolonged period.
  • Contributions by a researcher of the future
    Awarded to a researcher who received their doctoral degree 10 or fewer years prior to the year of the granting of the award, for contributions to sensory or consumer science, whether in terms of basic processes, methodologies or applications of knowledge or methods.

Previous awardees – established researcher:
2011 Harry Lawless
2013 Hely Tuorila
2015 Hildegarde Heymann
2017 Sylvie Issanchou

Previous awardees – researcher of the future:
2011 Gaston Ares
2013 John Ennis
2015 John Hayes
2017 Betina Piqueras-Fiszman

Further information:

Share this