Category Archives: News

E3S Established Researcher Award E3S-ERA


Recognising the major influence of a European established researcher in Sensory Science who has made major contributions to our understanding of sensory and consumer science, whether in terms of development of new methodologies, applications of knowledge or methods, education, and networking over a prolonged period.


Researcher who has conducted most of his/her activity in Europe, still in activity or retired, from academia or industry, with an international recognised experience in sensory and consumer science.

Potential criteria

  • Scientific papers
  • Books, book chapters
  • Invited talks
  • Connection to the industry
  • Connection to society
  • Organization of international conference or seminars
  • Mentoring of young professionals
  • Educating students
  • Contribution to E3S grown and activity

Nomination process

Every second year the E3S board opens a call to collect nominations to the award by means both of the E3S newsletter and the website. National societies forward the call by means of their national newsletter and website. Nominations are collected at a national level within 45 days from the E3S call.

Each individual member of any national society can nominate any European researcher. Each individual can express or support one nomination only. Nominations should be accompanied by supporting documentation, including:

  1. a letter of support outlining the important contributions of the nominee
  2. the current position and title, address, telephone, e mail address, a summary CV including a link to the publications of the nominee
  3. a list of other members supporting the same nomination if any

Individuals can send the nomination to more than one National Society board. The board of each national society selects one nomination within 30 days from the deadline for the nominations. Each national sensory society can propose only one nominee. All the selected nominees are published in the national and E3S websites.

Nomination process

Awarding process

The selection of the award winner is done through online voting system by E3S representative delegates in the General Assembly.

A two round system is adopted. Each representative casts a single vote for their chosen candidate. The two round system may resolve an election in a single round if one nominee reaches the simple majority (50% + 1 of the vote). If no candidate receives enough of the vote in the first round, then a second round of voting is held with either just the top two candidates. The most voted candidate is finally awarded.

Voting is done using an online system, so that all representatives have access to the results as soon as the voting session is concluded. In this way confirmation/validation of results in guaranteed.

The voting process should be completed two months before the annual E3S general assembly.

Awarding process


  • 15th May: E3S ERA call is open by the E3S Secretary 
  • 30th June: deadline for the collection of the nominations by national societies
  • 30th August: deadline for the selection of nominated researchers by the boards of national societies
  • 1st-30th September: Voting process involving E3S General Assembly representatives and completion of the entire selection process of the winner


The award winner receives 1500 euro and is invited to give a talk at the annual E3S symposium. In addition, the award is acknowledged at Eurosense before the presentation of the winners of the E3S Student Awards.

Travel expenses, registration and accommodation to attend Eurosense and the E3S annual symposium (2-3 days each event) will be covered by E3S.


Leave a Comment

Filed under E3S Established Researcher Award, News

Food Quality and Preference

Food Quality and Preference is the official journal of the European Sensory Science Society. Food Quality and Preference is a journal devoted to sensory, consumer and behavioural research in food and non-food products. It publishes original research, critical reviews, and short communications in sensory and consumer science, and sensometrics. In addition, the journal publishes special invited issues on important timely topics and from relevant conferences. These are aimed at bridging the gap between research and application, bringing together authors and readers in consumer and market research, sensory science, sensometrics and sensory evaluation, nutrition and food choice, as well as food research, product development and sensory quality assurance. Submissions to Food Quality and Preference are limited to papers that include some form of human measurement; papers that are limited to physical/chemical measures or the routine application of sensory, consumer or econometric analysis will not be considered unless they specifically make a novel scientific contribution in line with the journal’s coverage as outlined below.

The journal’s coverage includes:
• Sensory and motivational studies
• Food choice studies of cultural, sensory and environmental factors
• Innovative consumer and market research
• Geographical, cultural and individual differences in perception and preferences
• Health and wellbeing studies
• Mathematical modelling in relation to acceptability and food quality
• Sensometric analyses and models of sensory and acceptance parameters
• Consumer psychology and behavior, including the study of emotions
• Consumer-driven product development
• Product experience and contextual influences
• Methodological papers on personal care and other consumer products

Food Quality and Preference Awards

Since 2011 every second year, during the Pangborn Sensory Science Symposium, Food Quality and Preference assigns two awards to an established researcher and a researcher who received his/her doctoral degree 10 years from his/her PhD:

  • Contributions by an established researcher
    Awarded to a researcher who has made major contributions to our understanding of sensory or consumer science, whether in terms of basic processes, methodologies or applications of knowledge or methods, over a prolonged period.
  • Contributions by a researcher of the future
    Awarded to a researcher who received their doctoral degree 10 or fewer years prior to the year of the granting of the award, for contributions to sensory or consumer science, whether in terms of basic processes, methodologies or applications of knowledge or methods.

Previous awardees – established researcher:
2011 Harry Lawless
2013 Hely Tuorila
2015 Hildegarde Heymann
2017 Sylvie Issanchou

Previous awardees – researcher of the future:
2011 Gaston Ares
2013 John Ennis
2015 John Hayes
2017 Betina Piqueras-Fiszman

Further information:


Leave a Comment

Filed under News



Sens&Co is  proud to announce that the 4th of November 2014, the extraordinary General Assembly unanimously agreed to change its name, which now becomes:
Société Française d’Analyse Sensorielle.
The website of the French society will soon be updated but can still be accessed at



Filed under News